RepositoryCheshire Record Office
ReferenceDDS 18/7
TitleCopy of Indenture
Date17 Feb 1653
DescriptionCopy of Indenture, certified true copy by Tho. Pursell and Robert Bill

Parties. 1. William Leche of Shipley county of Derby Esq son and heir of Sir Edward Leche Kt late one of the Masters in Chancery dcsd., 2. Sir John Evelyn of Godstow county of Surrey Kt, Richard Hatton of the Middle Temple London Esq, Ambrose Phillipps Gent late servant of Sir Edward Leche.

Signed (and sealed) in transcript: William Leche.

Witnesses: Robert Hatton, William Read, &c.

Bargain and Sale in consideration of 5s of an estate in the manors and lordships of Hathersedge, Over Padley, Nether Padley, with all appurtenances and incidents, in the county of Derby, and lands and tenements in the townships villages hamlets and parishes of Hathersedge, Over Padley, Nether Padley, Grindleford, Cotes, Thornell, Leam, Derwent, Castleton, Bradwall, and Auferton, county of Derby (created by Indenture 2 November 1637 (13 Chas I) between 1. The Rt. Hon. Phillipp earl of Pembrok and Mountgomery dcsd, Sir Benjamin Ruddierd and Sir Robert Pye Kts and 2. Sir Edward Leche Kt.) in pursuance of and to Uses specified in an Indenture 4-part 1 December 1652 between 1. William Leche, 2. William Fitzherbert of Norbury county of Derby Esq, William Lewen of Indham co. Norff' LL.D. and Mary his wife, Richard Congrave of Stretton co. Staff' Esq and Ann his wife, Katherine Trentham widow late wife of William Trentham late of Rossiter co. Stafford Esq dcsd, William Fitzherbert of Tissington co. Derby Esq, and Giles Chapman of Woollverhampton [Wolverhampton] co. Stafford Gent, 3. Ambrose Phillipps, and Henry Kemp of the Middle Temple London Gent, 4. Sir John Evelyn and Richard Hatton. Certificate of enrolment in the Close Rolls of Chancery 30 June 1653 by Humfrey Jaggard.

Mark: Q. c. 14 17 Feb (52) Betwene William Lech Esq/&/ Sir John Evelyn &c/ in trust/ concerning Hathersedge/ & Padley.
Physical DescriptionPaper: 2 sheets 12" wide by 15½".
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2024