RepositoryCheshire Record Office
LevelCollection (Fonds)
TitleWirral Poor Law Union
Date19th century-20th century
DescriptionPoor law commissioners' orders relating to formation of union and erection of workhouse 1836-42, board minutes 1836-1931, workhouse committee minutes 1892-1926, boarding out committee minutes 1910-26, infirmary committee minutes 1915-26, general purposes committee minutes 1922-6, children's committee minutes 1925-6, treasurer's accounts 1906-25; workhouse (later Clatterbridge Hospital) records: master's report books 1924-33, visitors' report books 1918-48, chaplain's report book 1912-3 1; school attendance committee minutes 1883-94
Access ConditionsAccess to records containing personal information is subject to the requirements of the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) and the Data Protection Act 2018.
Administrative HistoryWirral Poor-Law Union was formed on 16 May 1836, and included the following parishes and townships: Arrowe, Barnston, Bebington cum Bromborough (from 1922), Bidston cum Ford (until 1861), Birkenhead (until 1861), Brimstage, Bromborough (until 1922), Burton [nr. Neston], Caldy, Childer Thornton, Claughton with Grange (until 1861), Eastham, Ellesmere Port (from 1911), Frankby, Gayton, Grange, Greasby, Great Meolse (until 1894), Great Neston (until 1894), Great Sutton, Heswall cum Oldfield, Higher Bebington (until 1922), Hoose (until 1894), Hooton, Hoylake cum West Kirby (from 1894), Irby, Landican (until 1861), Ledsham, Leighton [nr. Neston] (until 1894), Liscard (until 1861), Little Meolse (until 1894), Little Neston (until 1894), Little Sutton, Lower Bebington (until 1922), Moreton (until 1928), Ness, Neston cum Parkgate (from 1894), Netherpool (until 1911), Newton with Larton (until 1889), Noctorum (until 1861), Overpool (until 1911), Oxton (until 1861), Pensby, Poulton cum Seacombe (until 1861), Poulton cum Spital, Prenton (until 1861), Puddington, Raby, Saughall Massie, Storeton, Thingwall (until 1861), Thornton Hough, Thurstaston, Tranmere (until 1861), Upton by Birkenhead, Wallasey (until 1861), West Kirby (until 1894), Whitby (until 1911), Willaston [nr. Neston], and Woodchurch.

The Union Workhouse was opened in 1837 at Clatterbridge, in the parish of Poulton cum Spital. After 1930 it became Clatterbridge County General Hospital, and later Clatterbridge Hospital.
Related MaterialSee also ZRGW.
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2024