RepositoryCheshire Record Office
LevelCollection (Fonds)
TitleBroxton Petty Sessions records
DescriptionGeneral court registers 1941-1974. Juvenile court registers 1933-1966. Licensing registers 1904-1962. Other records 1835-1974.
LocationPlease note that parts of this collection are held offsite. Please contact Cheshire Archives and Local Studies in advance of your visit if you wish to view these records.
Access ConditionsMagistrates court records are closed for 30 years; and records containing personal information are subject to access restrictions under the UK Data Protection Act, 1998
Administrative HistoryFormed in 1828 from all the townships in Broxton Hundred, namely: Agden (nr. Malpas), Aldersey, Aldford, Bache, Barton, Bickerton, Bickley, Bradley, Broxton, Buerton (nr. Aldford), Bulkeley, Burwardsley, Caldecott, Carden, Caughall, Chidlow, Cholmondeley, Chorlton (nr. Malpas),, Chowley, Christleton, Church Shocklach, Churton by Aldford, Churton by Farndon, Churton Heath, Claverton, Clutton, Coddington, Cotton Abbotts, Cotton Edmunds, Crewe by Farndon, Cuddington (nr. Broxton), Dodleston, Duckington, Eaton (nr. Chester), Eccleston, Edge, Edgerley, Egerton, Farndon, Foulk Stapleford, Golborne Bellow, Golborne David, Grafton, Great Boughton, Guilden Sutton, Hampton, Handley, Harthill, Hatton (nr. Waverton), Hoole, Horton by Malpas, Huntington, Huxley, Kings Marsh, Larkton, Lea Newbold, Littleton, Lower Kinnerton, Macefen, Malpas, Marlston cum Lache, Mickle Trafford, Moston (nr. Chester),, Newton by Chester, Newton by Malpas, Newton by Tattenhall, Oldcastle, Overton, Picton, Poulton, Pulford, Rowton, Saighton, Shocklach Oviatt, Stockton, Stretton (nr. Tilston), Tattenhall, Threapwood, Tilston, Tushingham cum Grindley, Upton by Chester, Waverton werevin, Wigland and Wychough.

In 1871 the townships of Bache, Caughall, Chorlton (nr. Malpas), Christleton, Claverton, Dodleston, Eaton (nr. Chester),, Eccleston, Great Boughton, Guilden Sutton, Hoole, Huntington, Littleton, Lower Kinnerton, Marlston cum Lache, Mickle Trafford, Moston (nr. Chester),, Newton by Chester, Picton, Poulton, Pulford, Rowton, Saighton, Upton by Chester and Wervin were transfererd to the new Chester Castle division [see QPCa].

Broxton petty sessional division was abolished in 1974 to become part of the new Chester division [see ZQPK2].
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2024