RepositoryCheshire Record Office
LevelCollection (Fonds)
TitleChester Poor Law Union
Date1909 - 1929
DescriptionThe records listed below cover the period 1909 - 1929 and relate to parishes and townships within the former Chester Rural District.
LocationPlease note that parts of this collection are held offsite. Please contact Cheshire Archives and Local Studies in advance of your visit if you wish to view these records.
Administrative HistoryChester Poor-Law Union was formed on 20 September 1869, as a successor to the Chester City Incorporation (established by act of parliament in 1761). In 1871 t was extended to include areas outside the city, and included the following parishes and townships: Bache (from 1871), Backford (from 1871), Blacon cum Crabwall (from 1871), Bridge Trafford (from 1871), Capenhurst (from 1871), Caughall (from 1871), Chester (from 1884), Chester Abbey Precincts (until 1884), Chester Castle (from 1889), Chester Holy Trinity (until 1884), Chester St. Bridget (until 1884), Chester St. John the Baptist (until 1884), Chester St. Martin (until 1884), Chester St. Mary on the Hill (until 1884), Chester St. Michael (until 1884), Chester St. Olave (until 1884), Chester St. Oswald (until 1884), Chester St. Peter (until 1884), Chorlton by Backford (from 1871), Christleton (from 1871), Claverton (from 1871), Croughton (from 1871), Dodleston (from 1871), Dunham on the Hill (from 1871), Eaton [nr. Chester] (from 1871), Eccleston (from 1871), Elton [nr. Helsby] (from 1871), Great Boughton (from 1871), Great Mollington (1871-1901), Great Saughall (from 1871), Great Stanney (from 1871), Hapsford (from 1871), Hoole (from 1871), Hoole Village (from 1894), Ince (from 1871), Lea by Backford (from 1871), Little Mollington (1871-1901), Little Saughall (from 1871), Little Stanney (from 1871), Littleton (from 1871), Lower Kinnerton (from 1871), Marlston cum Lache (from 1871), Mickle Trafford (from 1871), Mollington (from 1901), Moston [nr. Chester], Newton by Chester (from 1871), Picton (from 1871), Poulton (from 1871), Pulford (from 1871), Shotwick (from 1871), Shotwick Park (from 1871), Spital Boughton (until 1884), Stanlow (1871-1911), Stoke [nr. Ellesmere Port] (from 1871), Thornton le Moors (from 1871),
Upton by Chester (from 1871), Wervin (from 1871), Wimbolds Trafford (from 1871), and Woodbank (from 1871).

The Union Workhouse was opened in 1878 at Hoole Lane, Chester (replacing the former city workhouse near the Roodee). After 1930 it was known St. James's Hospital, and from 1948 it became Chester City Hospital [see also under ZHC].
Related MaterialFor other records relating to Chester Poor Law Union see ZTRU/1 - 201.
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2024