RepositoryCheshire Record Office
LevelCollection (Fonds)
TitleMiddlewich Petty Sessions records
DescriptionGeneral court registers 1934-1966. Juvenile court registers 1933-1967. Other records 1959-1967.
LocationHeld offsite - consult staff
Access ConditionsMagistrates court records are closed for 30A years; and records containing personal information are subject to access restrictions under the UK Data Protection Act, 1998
Administrative HistoryFrom its formation in 1873 the division was initially known as "Northwich", although Northwich itself was at this time part of the Leftwich division [see QPNo]. It included the townships of: Allostock, Alsager, Arclid, Betchton, Blackden, Bostock, Bradwall, Brereton cum Smethwick, Buglawton, Byley, Church Hulme, Church Lawton, Clive, Cotton, Cranage, Davenport, Elton (nr. Sandbach), Goostrey cum Barnshaw, Hassall, Hulme Walfield, Kermincham, Kinderton, Leese, Middlewich, Minshull Vernon, Moreton cum Alcumlow, Moston (nr. Sandbach), Newbold Astbury, Odd Rode, Sandbach, Smallwood, Somerford, Sproston, Stanthorne, Swettenham, Tetton, Twemlow, Warmingham, Whatcroft and Wimboldsley.

In 1899 the Leftwich division was renamed Northwich [see QPNo], while at the same time the former Northwich division was renamed "Middlewich & Sandbach". The latter was again renamed in 1907 as "Middlewich", after the townships of Alsager, Arclid, Betchton, Bradwall, Brereton cum Smethwick, Buglawton, Church Lawton, Davenport, Elton (nr. Sandbach), Hassall, Kermincham, Moston (nr. Sandbach), Sandbach and Wheelock, became part of the new Sandbach division [see QPS]. Whatcroft was returned to the Northwich division in 1909 [see QPNo].

Records of the Northwich division (1873-1899) and Middlewich & Sandbach divisions (1899-1907) are included here with records of the Middlewich division.

Middlewich petty sessional division was abolished in 1967 to become part of the new South East Cheshire division [see QPSe].
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2024