Click here to skip to main content.
Repository Cheshire Record Office
Level Collection (Fonds)
Reference QPP
Title Prestbury Petty Sessions records
Date 1881-1974
Description General court registers 1891-1974.Juvenile court registers 1933-1974. Adoption registers 1930-1949. Special sessions registers 1881-1935. Licensing registers 1922-1974. Other records 1892-1969.
Location Please note that parts of this collection are held offsite. Please contact Cheshire Archives and Local Studies in advance of your visit if you wish to view these records.
Access Conditions MagistratesAccess to records containing personal information is subject to the requirements of the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) and the Data Protection Act 2018.
Administrative History Formed in 1828 from the following townships in Macclesfield Hundred: Adlington, Birtles, Bollinfee, Bollington (nr. Macclesfield), Bosley, Butley, Capesthorne, Chelford, Chorley (nr. Alderley), Eaton (nr. Congleton), Fallibroome, Fulshaw, Gawsworth, Great Warford, Henbury cum Pexall, Hurdsfield, Kettleshulme, Lower Withington, Lyme Handley, Macclesfield, Macclesfield Forest, Marton (nr. Congleton), Mottram St. Andrew, Nether Alderley, Newton (nr. Prestbury), North Rode, Old Withington, Over Alderley, Pott Shrigley, Pownall Fee, Poynton, Prestbury, Rainow, Siddington, Snelson, Sutton (nr. Macclesfield), Tytherington, Upton, Wildboarclough, Wincle, Woodford and Worth.

In 1835 the township of Macclesfield was transferred to the new Macclesfield (Borough) division.

Prestbury petty sessional division was abolished in 1974 to become part of the new Macclesfield division [see QPM].
Powered by CalmView© 2008-2010