RepositoryCheshire Record Office
LevelCollection (Fonds)
TitleChester Castle Petty Sessions records
DescriptionGeneral court registers 1916-1974. Juvenile Court registers 1933-1975. Licensing registers 1928-1964. Other records 1890-1977.
LocationPlease note that parts of this collection are held offsite. Please contact Cheshire Archives and Local Studies in advance of your visit if you wish to view these records.
Access ConditionsMagistrates court records are closed for 30years; and records containing personal information are subject to access restrictions under the UK Data Protection Act, 1998
Administrative HistoryFormed in 1871 from parts of the divisions of Broxton, Eddisbury and Wirral [see QPBr, QPEd and QPW], including the following townships: Bache, Backford, Blacon cum Crabwall, Bridge Trafford, Capenhurst, Caughall, Chester Castle, Chorlton, Christleton, Claverton, Croughton, Dodleston, Eaton, Eccleston, Elton, Great Boughton, Great Mollington, Great Saughall, Great Stanney, Guilden Sutton, Hapsford, Hoole, Huntington, Ince, Lea by Backford, Little Mollington, Little Saughall, Little Stanney, Littleton, Lower Kinnerton, Marlston cum Lache, Mickle Trafford, Moston, Newton by Chester, Picton, Poulton, Pulford, Rowton, Saighton, Shotwick, Shotwick Park, Stanlow, Stoke, Thornton le Moors, Upton by Chester werevin, Whitby, Wimbolds Trafford, and Woodbank.

In 1910 the townships of Netherpool and Overpool (which together with Whitby formed the parish of Ellesmere Port in 1911) were added from Wirral division [see QPW]. The townships of Childer Thornton, Great Sutton, Hooton, Little Sutton, Ledsham, and Puddington were also transferred from Wirral division in 1933.

Chester Castle petty sessional division was abolished in 1974 when the parish of Ellesmere Port was transferred to the Ellesmere Port & Neston division [see QPEn], and all the remaining areas to the new Chester division [see ZQPK2].
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2024