RepositoryCheshire Record Office
LevelCollection (Fonds)
TitleDaresbury Petty Sessions records
DescriptionGeneral court registers 1880-1974. Juvenile court registers 1934-1973. Licensing registers 1872-1958. Other records 1863-1973.
LocationPlease note that parts of this collection are held offsite. Please contact Cheshire Archives and Local Studies in advance of your visit if you wish to view these records.
Access ConditionsMagistrates court records are closed for 30A years; and records containing personal information are subject to access restrictions under the UK Data Protection Act, 1998
Administrative HistoryFormed in 1839 out of the Bucklow division [see QPBu], including the following townships: Acton Grange, Anderton, Antrobus, Appleton, Aston by Sutton, Aston Grange, Barnton, Bartington, Clifton, Cogshall, Comberbach, Daresbury, Dutton, Grappenhall, Great Budworth, Halton, Hatton (nr. Daresbury), Higher Whitley, Keckwick, Latchford, Latchford, Latchford Without, Little Leigh, Lower Whitley, Marbury, Middleton Grange, Moore, Newton by Daresbury, Norton, Preston Brook, Preston on the Hill, Runcorn, Seven Oaks, Stockham, Stockton Heath, Stretton (nr. Warrington), Sutton (nr. Frodsham), Walton Inferior, Walton Superior and Weston (nr. Runcorn).

Part of the township of Latchford became part of the new Warrington (Borough) division in 1847, and in 1867 the townships of Aston by Sutton, Aston Grange, Clifton, Halton, Norton, Runcorn, Stockham, Sutton (nr. Frodsham) and Weston (nr. Runcorn) became part of the new Runcorn division.

The Daresbury division was futher reduced in 1873, when the townhsips of Anderton, Barnton, Cogshall, Comberbach, Great Budworth and Marbury were transferred to the new Leftwich division [later renamed Northwich, see QPNo]. Bartington and Little Leigh were also transferred to the latter division in 1906.

Daresbury pettty sessional division was abolished in 1974 to become parts of the Warrington and Vale Royal divisions [see QPWa, QPV].
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2024