RepositoryCheshire Record Office
LevelCollection (Fonds)
TitleEddisbury Petty Sessions records
DescriptionGeneral court registers 1845-1974. Juvenile court registers 1933-1974. Adoption registers 1929-1947. Licensing registers 1872-1974. Other records 1821-1954.
LocationPlease note that parts of this collection are held offsite. Please contact Cheshire Archives and Local Studies in advance of your visit if you wish to view these records.
Access ConditionsMagistrates court records are closed for 30A years; and records containing personal information are subject to access restrictions under the UK Data Protection Act, 1998
Administrative HistoryFormed in 1828 from all the townships in Eddisbury Hundred, namely Acton (nr. Weaverham), Alpraham, Alvanley, Ashton, Barrow, Beeston, Bridge Trafford, Bruen Stapleford, Bunbury, Burton (nr, Tarvin), Calveley, Castle Northwich, Clotton Hoofield, Crowton, Cuddington (nr. Eddisbury), Darnhall, Delamere, Duddon, Dunham on the Hill, Eaton (nr. Tarporley), Eddisbury, Elton (nr. Helsby), Frodsham, Frodsham Lordship, Hapsford, Hartford, Haughton, Helsby, Hockenhull, Horton cum Peel, Iddinshall, Ince, Kelsall, Kingsley, Kingswood, Little Budworth, Low Oulton, Manley, Marton (nr. Whitegate), Mouldsworth, Newton by Frodsham, Norley, Oakmere, Onston, Over, Peckforton, Priors Heys, Ridley, Rushton, Spurstow, Tarporley, Tarvin, Thornton le Moors, Tilstone Fearnall, Tiverton, Utkinton, Wallerscoat, Wardle, Weaver, Weaverham, Wettenhall, Willington, Wimbolds Trafford and Winnington.

In 1871 the townships of Bridge Trafford, Elton (nr. Helsby), Hapsford, Ince, Thornton le Moors, and Wimbolds Trafford were transferred to the new Chester Castle division [see QPCa]. In 1873 the townships of Castle Northwich, Hartford and Winnington became part of the new Leftwich division [renamed Northwich in 1899, see QPNo].

In 1902 the Eddisbury division was extended to include the township of Wharton from the Northwich division [see QPNo], although in 1906 this township, together with Darnhall and Over, became part of the new Winsford division [see QPWs]

The Eddisbury division was abolishedin 1974 to become parts of the Vale Royal and Chester divisions [see QPV and ZQPK2].
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2024