RepositoryCheshire Record Office
LevelCollection (Fonds)
TitleNantwich Petty Sessions records
DescriptionGeneral court registers 1886-1973. Juvenile court registers 1933-1968.
LocationPlease note that parts of this collection are held offsite. Please contact Cheshire Archives and Local Studies in advance of your visit if you wish to view these records.
Access ConditionsMagistrates court records are closed for 30 years; and records containing personal information are subject to access restrictions under the UK Data Protection Act, 1998
Administrative HistoryFormed in 1828 from all the townships in Nantwich Hundred, namely: Acton (nr. Nantwich), Alsager, Alvaston, Aston juxta Mondrum, Audlem, Austerson, Baddiley, Baddington, Barthomley, Basford, Batherton, Betchton, Blakenhall, Bridgemere, Brindley, Broomhall, Buerton (nr. Audlem), Burland, Checkley cum Wrinehill, Cholmondeston, Chorley (nr. Cholmondeley), Chorlton (nr. Crewe), Church Coppenhall, Church Minshull, Coole Pilate, Crewe, Dodcott cum Wilkesley, Doddington, Edleston, Faddiley, Hankelow, Haslington, Hassall, Hatherton, Henhull, Hough, Hunsterson, Hurleston, Lea, Leighton (nr. Nantwich), Marbury cum Quoisley, Monks Coppenhall, Nantwich, Newhall (nr. Audlem), Norbury (nr. Malpas), Poole, Rope, Shavington cum Gresty, Sound, Stapeley, Stoke (nr. Nantwich), Tittenley, Walgherton, Weston (nr. Crewe), Willaston (nr. Nantwich), Wirswall, Wistaston, Woodcott, Woolstanwood, Worleston, Wrenbury cum Frith and Wybunbury.

In 1839 the townships of Alsager, Betchton and Hassall were transferred to the Northwich division [see QPNo], and in 1881 the township of Monks Coppenhall formed the new Crewe (Borough) division. The Cheshire township of Tittenley left the Nantwich division when it became part of Shropshire in 1895.

Nantwich petty sessional division was abolished in 1974 to become part of the new Crewe & Nantwich division [see QPCn].
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2024