RepositoryCheshire Record Office
LevelCollection (Fonds)
TitleNorthwich Petty Sessions records
DescriptionGeneral court registers 1910-1972. Juvenile court registers 1933-1972. Adoption registers 1927-1977. Special sessions registers 1915-1962. Licensing registers 1871-1980. Other records 1925-1940.
LocationPlease note that parts of this collection are held offsite. Please contact Cheshire Archives and Local Studies in advance of your visit if you wish to view these records.
Access ConditionsMagistrates court records are closed for 30A years; and records containing personal information are subject to access restrictions under the UK Data Protection Act, 1998
Administrative HistoryFrom its formation in 1873 the division was initially known as "Leftwich", and included the townships of Anderton, Barnton, Birches, Castle Northwich, Cogshall, Comberbach, Davenham, Eaton (nr. Davenham), Great Budworth, Hartford, Hulse, Lach Dennis, Leftwich, Lostock Gralam, Marbury, Marston, Moulton, Nether Peover, Newhall, Northwich (nr. Middlewich), Rudheath, Shipbrook, Shurlach, Stublach, Wincham, Winnington and Witton cum Twambrooks.

In 1899 the Leftwich division was renamed "Northwich", while at the same time the former Northwich division was renamed "Middlewich & Sandbach" [see QPMi for the records of the latter division].

Iin 1902 the township of Wharton was transferred to the Eddisbury division [see QPEd], and in 1906 the Northwich division was extended to include the townships of Aston by Budworth, Bartington, Crowley, Little Leigh and Pickmere, from the Bucklow and Daresbury divisions [see QPBu and QPD]. The township of Whatcroft was also added in 1909 from the Middlewich division [see QPMi].

Northwich petty sessional division was abolished in 1974 when the parish of Aston by Budworth was transferred to the new Macclesfield division [see QPM], and all the remaining parishes became part of the new Vale Royal division [see QPV].
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2024